2014 Sugar Bowl Game Tickets

2014 Sugar Bowl is scheduled for Thursday, January 2, 2014 at Mercedes-Benz Superdome, New Orleans, LA. The kicking off time is at 8:00 p.m ET. Get your 2014 Sugar Bowl tickets here:

The Sugar Bowl is one of the major BCS bowls played at the end of each college football season in America. It is played in the Louisiana Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Sugar Bowl has been played each year since 1934. It celebrated its 75th anniversary in 2009. Along with the Orange Bowl and Sun Bowl, the Sugar Bowl is the second-oldest bowl game in the country, behind the Rose Bowl (first played 1902, played annually since 1916). The Sugar Bowl is also a member of the Bowl Championship Series. Presently, its official title is the "Allstate Sugar Bowl"; Allstate being its current sponsor.

Last year it was the SEC East Champ, and then defending National Champion, Florida Gators (led by Tim Tebow) taking on (and crushing) the undefeated Big East Champion, Cincinnati Bearcats. Was a great game for Tebow.

This year, it's a great match-up of Arkansas (#2 in the SEC West) vs Ohio State (#2 in the Big Ten). This game will be huge as one of sports most amazing stats will be on the line. That statistic is that Ohio State is 0-9 vs the SEC in bowl games. Here's an Arkansas vs Ohio State 2011 Sugar Bowl Preview.

The first Sugar Bowl was played in 1935 after years of effort by New Orleans businessmen to bring the game to the Crescent City. That first game featured the hometown Tulane Green Wave facing off against Temple at Tulane Stadium -- which was also known by locals as the Sugar Bowl -- (because it was built on the site of a former sugar plantation). Tulane won the first Sugar Bowl, 20-14, beginning a New Orleans New Year's tradition that continues to this day.

The Sugar Bowl continued to be played at Tulane Stadium through 1974, until the completion of the Louisiana Superdome made it possible for the game to be moved to the new facility in 1975. Only once has the game not been played in New Orleans - the 2006 showdown between West Virginia and Georgia had to be moved to Atlanta's Georgia Dome, due to damage caused by Hurricane Katrina. If you are planning a trip to the Sugar Bowl, check out Sugar Bowl Trip Tips.

Until the creation of the Bowl Championship Series (BCS), the Sugar Bowl's historic conference tie-in was with the champion of the Southeastern Conference (SEC). Alabama's Crimson Tide and the Louisiana State (LSU) Tigers have both made 12 appearances at the Sugar Bowl, more than any other school; Georgia and Mississippi (Ole Miss) follow, participating eight times each. Among non-SEC participants, Oklahoma and Florida State have six visits each, most among the non-conference teams.

The Tide also lead the way in Sugar Bowl wins with eight, while LSU and Ole Miss have five wins each; Florida State, Georgia Tech, Oklahoma and Tennessee follow, each with four victories. The Sugar Bowl has also been the BCS championship game twice, in 2000 and 2004.

Sugar Bowl 2006: The 72nd Sugar Bowl marked the first and only time that the game was played outside of New Orleans. The change of venue occurred due to the devastating effects that Hurricane Katrina leveled on The Big Easy. The game was moved to the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, which certainly seemed to give the #8 Georgia Bulldogs home field advantage over the underdog #11 West Virginia Mountaineers. However, when all was said and done, the Mountaineers upset the Bulldogs 38- 35. West Va true freshman running back Steve Slaton set a Sugar Bowl record by rushing for 204 yards (breaking Tony Dorsett's 202 mark, which was set 30 years earlier).

Below is a list of the last few years Sugar Bowl results. The first game was played in 1935 at Tulane Stadium before moving to the Superdome in 1975. The title sponsor was Nokia (from 1995-2006), but the bowl was sponsored by Allstate, beginning in 2007.

Date Result
Jan. 2, 2013 Louisville 33, Florida 23
Jan. 3, 2012 Michigan 23, Virginia Tech 20
Jan. 4, 2011 Ohio State 31, Arkansas 26
Jan. 1, 2010 Florida 51, Alabama 24
Jan. 2, 2009 Utah 31, Alabama 17
Jan. 1, 2008 Georgia 41, Hawaii 10
Jan. 3, 2007 Louisiana State 41, Notre Dame 14
Jan. 2, 2006 West Virginia 38, Georgia 35
Jan. 3, 2005 Auburn 16, Virginia Tech 13
Jan. 4, 2004 Louisiana State 21, Oklahoma 14
Jan. 1, 2003 Georgia 26, Florida State 13
Jan. 1, 2002 Louisiana State 47, Illinois 34
Jan. 2, 2001 Miami Fla 37, Florida 20
Jan. 4, 2000 Florida State 46, Virginia Tech 29
Jan. 1, 1999 Ohio St. 24, Texas A&M 14
Jan. 1, 1998 Florida St. 31, Ohio St. 14
Jan. 2, 1997 Florida 52, Florida St. 20
Dec. 31, 1995 Virginia Tech 28, Texas 10
Jan. 2, 1995 Florida St. 23, Florida 17
Jan. 1, 1994 Florida 41, West Virginia 7
Jan. 1, 1993 Alabama 34, Miami Fla 13
Jan. 1, 1992 Notre Dame 39, Florida 28
Jan. 1, 1991 Tennessee 23, Virginia 22
Jan. 1, 1990 Miami Fla 33, Alabama 25

New! Facebook Comments

Leave a comment about this article in the box below and share it with your Facebook friends.
By Mo Johnson, Copyright © 2006-2017 SECSportsFan.com

Top of this Page

Please Visit our Amazon, Ebay, Etsy and Better Display Cases stores.

Like this Page

Visit Our Social Media Pages

Become a Fan of SecSportsFan on Facebook Follow SecSportsFan on Twitter
Find SecSportsFan on Google+ Follow SecSportsFan on YouTube