2013 SEC Football Championship Game Tickets

2013 SEC Football Championship Game is scheduled for Saturday, December 7, 2013 at Georgia Dome - Atlanta, GA. The kicking off time is at 4:00 p.m ET. Get your 2013 SEC Football tickets here:

The SEC Championship Game refers to the game that determines the Southeastern Conference's football champion. The championship game pits the top team from the SEC Western Division against the top team from the SEC Eastern Division. The game is held the Saturday after the regular season is completed. The winner gets an automatic bid to a BCS bowl (and the past 4 years to the BCS Championship Game)!!

Currently, nine of the twelve SEC members have played in the Championship. Only Ole Miss has failed to reach the game from the West. In 2003, the Rebels were tied for first in the western division with LSU but lost the head-to-head match up in Oxford, so LSU played in the SEC Championship Game. Kentucky and Vanderbilt have never made it to the top from the East. South Carolina just made it for the first time in 2010, losing to Auburn. The Eastern division holds an advantage in the game over the Western division, 11-8 overall.

The SEC Championship Game is one of the premier events in college football. In 2009 it was amazing as undefeated Florida and undefeated Alabama faced off against each other. Here was a preview: 2009 SEC Football Championship Game Preview.

Fans from the SEC will tell you that it is really almost as great an accomplishment to win an SEC Championship, as it is to win a National Championship. The reason is that the SEC is loaded with great college football teams. So if you were good enough to get to the top of the heap in the SEC, then you are one of the elite teams in all of NCAA football.

This year the game was held on Saturday, December 4, 2010, again at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta. Here's a funny SEC Championship Game story about it.

Also, if you do plan to go to one of these games, please check out our travel tips at Atlanta - Georgia Dome Trip.

The SEC was established in December 1932, when the 13 members of the Southern Conference located west and south of the Appalachian Mountains left to form their own conference. Ten of the thirteen charter members have remained in the conference since its inception. They are University of Alabama, University of Florida, University of Georgia, University of Kentucky, University of Mississippi, University of Tennessee, Auburn University, Louisiana State University, Mississippi State University, and Vanderbilt University. The other charter members were: Sewanee (Left the SEC in 1940), Georgia Tech (Left the SEC in 1964), and Tulane (Left the SEC in 1966).

The SEC expanded from ten to twelve members in 1991 with the addition of the University of Arkansas from the Southwest Conference and the University of South Carolina from the independent ranks in football and the Metro Conference in other sports (except men's soccer, where it stayed with the Metro for two years; after the disbandment of the Metro, it was independent until joining Conference USA for soccer in 2005).

In 1992, the SEC adopted the divisional setup that exists today. Also in 1992, the SEC was the first conference to receive permission from the NCAA to conduct an annual championship game in football, featuring the winners of the conference's eastern and western divisions. It was held at Birmingham's Legion Field the first two years and at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta thereafter. If planning a trip to the game, check out Georgia Dome Trip.

Below is a list of results in each SEC Football Championship Game, which started in 1992.

  • 1992 SEC Championship Game - #2 Alabama 28 - #12 Florida 21
  • 1993 SEC Championship Game - #9 Florida 28 - #16 Alabama 13
  • 1994 SEC Championship Game - #6 Florida 24 - #3 Alabama 23
  • 1995 SEC Championship Game - #2 Florida 34 - #23 Arkansas 3
  • 1996 SEC Championship Game - #4 Florida 45 - #11 Alabama 30
  • 1997 SEC Championship Game - #3 Tennessee 30 - #11 Auburn 29
  • 1998 SEC Championship Game - #1 Tennessee 24 - #23 Mississippi State 14
  • 1999 SEC Championship Game - #7 Alabama 34 - #5 Florida 7
  • 2000 SEC Championship Game - #7 Florida 28 - #18 Auburn 6
  • 2001 SEC Championship Game - #21 LSU 31 - #2 Tennessee 20
  • 2002 SEC Championship Game - #4 Georgia 30 - #22 Arkansas 3
  • 2003 SEC Championship Game - #3 LSU 34 - #5 Georgia 13
  • 2004 SEC Championship Game - #3 Auburn 38 - #15 Tennessee 28
  • 2005 SEC Championship Game - #13 Georgia 34 - #3 LSU 14
  • 2006 SEC Championship Game - #4 Florida 38 - #8 Arkansas 28
  • 2007 SEC Championship Game - #5 LSU 21 - #14 Tennessee 14
  • 2008 SEC Championship Game - #2 Florida 31 - #1 Alabama 20
  • 2009 SEC Championship Game - #2 Alabama 32 - #1 Florida 13
  • 2010 SEC Championship Game - #1 Auburn 56 - #19 South Carolina 17

SEC Football Championship Game Tickets


Date: Saturday, December 7
Site: Georgia Dome; Atlanta Ga.
Capacity: 71,500
Time: 4 p.m. ET
Television: CBS

To buy tickets from the SEC, write to:
SEC Championship Game
2201 Richard Arrington Blvd, North
Brimingham, AL 35203
(205) 458-3000

Georgia Dome Contract: Through 2015 game
CBS Sports Contract: Through 2024 game
Highest TV Rating: 11.8 (24 share)-2009
Largest Crowd: 83,091 (Alabama vs. Florida, Legion Field) - 1992
Largest Georgia Dome Crowd: 75,892 (Alabama vs. Florida) - 2008

New! Facebook Comments

Leave a comment about this article in the box below and share it with your Facebook friends.
By Mo Johnson, Copyright © 2006-2017 SECSportsFan.com

Top of this Page

Please Visit our Amazon, Ebay, Etsy and Better Display Cases stores.

Like this Page

Visit Our Social Media Pages

Become a Fan of SecSportsFan on Facebook Follow SecSportsFan on Twitter
Find SecSportsFan on Google+ Follow SecSportsFan on YouTube