Alabama Basketball History

Despite the common misconception that the University of Alabama is strictly a football school, the Crimson Tide basketball program is actually one of the more storied in the Southeastern Conference, trailing only annual powerhouse Kentucky in SEC total games won, SEC tournament titles (6- 1934, 1982, 1987, 1989, 1990, 1991), and SEC regular season titles (7- 1934, 1956, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1987, 2002).

The UA basketball team played its first season in 1913, coached by D.V. Graves (who also coached the UA football team from 1911 to 1914). The longest tenured coach in UA history was Hank Crisp, who coached the Crimson Tide basketball team from 1924-1942, a total of 19 seasons, a stretch that included UA's last undefeated season, a 20-0 campaign in 1930. It was also during the Crisp era that the Crimson Tide made their move to the Southeastern Conference, of which they are a charter member, in 1932.

Alabama basketball really hit its stride in the late 60 upon hiring Hall-of-Famer C.M. Newton. After struggling badly in his first two seasons, Newton slowly turned the program around, eventually leading to 5 consecutive seasons of 20+ wins (1973-1977), something that had never been done before, and has not been done since, at Alabama.

When Newton moved on in 1981, the team transitioned relatively smoothly to Head Coach Wimp Sanderson, who had served as an assistant under Newton. In Sanderson 12 seasons, UA had a losing record only once, and won 20+ games 9 times.

Despite the fact that UA has yet to win an NCAA National Championship, it has had a number of impressive "March Madness" runs. The Crimson Tide has made the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament 7 times (6 of these runs coming during the Sanderson era) and, in 2004, made its first ever Elite Eight appearance, ultimately losing to the eventual champion in Connecticut.

The former Head Coach of the Crimson Tide was Mark Gottfried (until Jan '09), who had served in that capacity since 1999. After struggling initially, Gottfried has found a groove since 2001, leading his team to 20+ wins in 5 of 7 seasons, including a 27 win season in 2002, 5 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances from 2002-2006, and the aforementioned Elite Eight appearance in 2004.

But, after a dispute with the Alabama Administration involving former player Ronald Steele's decision to leave the team, Mark Gottfried resigned and was later replaced by Anthony Grant.

A number of former Crimson Tide stars have gone on to achieve varying degrees of success in the NBA. Among those are the likes of 7-time NBA champion Robert Horry, Latrell Sprewell, Antonio McDyess, Gerald Wallace, and Maurice Williams.

The University of Alabama Crimson Tide plays its home games at the Coleman Coliseum in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

Look for your Alabama Crimson Tide Merchandise and Apparel, Tickets, and Baseball Caps.

Alabama Basketball History
Alabama Basketball History
Alabama Basketball History

Other Alabama Crimson Tide Basketball Pages

New! Facebook Comments

Leave a comment about this article in the box below and share it with your Facebook friends.

What do you think?

We'd love to hear your comments and/or opinions. If you submit them here, other visitors can read them, rate them and comment on them. An e-mail address is not required.

By Mo Johnson, Copyright © 2006-2017

Top of this Page

Please Visit our Amazon, Ebay, Etsy and Better Display Cases stores.

Like this Page

Visit Our Social Media Pages

Become a Fan of SecSportsFan on Facebook Follow SecSportsFan on Twitter
Find SecSportsFan on Google+ Follow SecSportsFan on YouTube