Tennessee Never Had a Heisman Winner

by Kavin Caruso
(Decatur, Georgia)

Tennessee never had a Heisman winner. Johnny Majors came close in 1956, when he lost it to Paul Hornung. Paul Hornung was the quarterback of Notre Dame and they were 2-8. Tennessee was 10-1. That will be the last time a Heisman winner wins the trophy with a losing record.

Paul Hornung went on to play for Green Bay. Johnny Majors coached University of Pittsburgh and won a national championship in 1976 season with Tony Dorsett was the running back. He coached Tennessee from 1977-1991.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to SEC Football Discussion.

By Mo Johnson, Copyright © 2006-2017 SECSportsFan.com

Top of this Page

Please Visit our Amazon, Ebay, Etsy and Better Display Cases stores.

Like this Page

Visit Our Social Media Pages

Become a Fan of SecSportsFan on Facebook Follow SecSportsFan on Twitter
Find SecSportsFan on Google+ Follow SecSportsFan on YouTube