auburn fan -- USC won 5 football championships


I'm an auburn fan but USC was the AP champ in 62 67 and 72, and the BCS champ in 03 and 04...that's five for one pac-10 team alone, not to mention any've got pac 10 listed as 4 total championships

EDITOR's Note: Thanks, but USC only won in 04. LSU won in 03. As you know, prior to the BCS, you had to look at multiple polls to determine a national champ. I'll stand by our stats.

But, thanks for the note

Comments for auburn fan -- USC won 5 football championships

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 09, 2007
Official National Championships
by: Tex/1st-N-Goal

NCAA-accepted official National Champions*

USC: 1962-67-72-74-2003-04==5

LSU: 1958-2003=2

Yes, LSU/SEC fans yall won the title in 2003; just not the unaminous title--but then, neither was the 1958 championship all yours.

Iowa was awarded the 1958 FWAA (Football Writers Association of America) championship--an official selector by NCAA standards.

USC won the AP 2003 and this selector has been around since 1936 and in more authorative than any other--including the BCS.

Till we get a playoff game for Bowl Subdivision, split championships are quite possible.

If two teams can't settle it on the field--where a championship should be settled--split championship will like happen once in awhile.

And I am not talking about a 1-game BCS Championship Game...I mean a series of games of at least 4 (semi-final and title games) or more.

There has been a number years were a split championship should have been awarded, but wasn't.

So, SEC fans, Pac Ten fans and alums of all schools who has ever one a Major College title, brag that your school is #1 and hope they repeat!

In the race for No. 1 one this season, personally I hope Michigan defeates Ohio State; and don't forget LSU stil has to win the SEC Championship Game....I for one want a school that has NEVER won it before.

When was the last time a school won it for the first time?

Glad you asked.

The last time major college had a "new or first time champion" was....Florida, 1996.

So, don't complain your school had to share a title with someone....voice your thoughts that we should have a playoff to settle it!!

*Sources that make-up officially accepted National Champions: AP, since 1936; UP/UPI, 1950; FWAA, 1954; National Football Foundation/Hall of Fame, 1959; USA TODAY, 1991.

The BCS is apart of the championship process but not listed as official selector in the record book.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to College Sports Discussion.

By Mo Johnson, Copyright © 2006-2017

Top of this Page

Please Visit our Amazon, Ebay, Etsy and Better Display Cases stores.

Like this Page

Visit Our Social Media Pages

Become a Fan of SecSportsFan on Facebook Follow SecSportsFan on Twitter
Find SecSportsFan on Google+ Follow SecSportsFan on YouTube