CURRENT SEC COACHES: WHERE THEY RANK ALL-TIME WITH OTHER CONFERENCE LEGENDARY COACHES

By Tex Noel/1st-N-Goal; StatHistorian/SEC SportsFan.com

Outstanding players...teams and coaches are what have made the SEC one of the premier conferences—as this year it begins in 77th season.

A number of the SECs current coaches are ranked within few wins/games are reaching milestones—and it could be an interesting 'race' to see how far up the ladder in *Wins and Conference Championships*, each climbs during the season.

Using the 2009 SEC Football Media Guide as my source here is what I found.

> Paul "Bear" Bryant recorded the most SEC Regular Season wins, 159

#4 Steve Spurrier, South Carolina, 102

#14 Mark Richt, Georgia, is tied with Pat Dye (1981-92) with 48...Richt's first regular season win ties him with Doug Dickey, Tennessee and Florida, 1964-78.

#16 Houston Nutt, Ole Miss, has 47.

#18 Nick Saban, Alabama, has 42; 1 away from tying Jackie Sherrill (Mississippi State, 1991-2003).

#29 Urban Meyer, Florida, is tied for 29th with Paul Dietzel (LSU, 1955-61) and Jack Meagher (Auburn, 1934-42) as each has 26...a 13-0 season {counting the SEC Championship Game win} vaults him to the 19th spot; currently held by Gene Stallings (Alabama, 1990-96).

➤ All-Time SEC Wins, Paul "Bear" Bryant, 292

#8 Steve Spurrier, South Carolina, 150 (former Tennessee coach, Phil Fulmer had 152).

#18 Houston Nutt, Ole Miss, 84.

#20 Mark Richt, Georgia, 82; and with his first win this season, ties Bernie Moore, LSU, who had 83; from 1948-66 he served as SEC Commissioner).

> Number of SEC Championships

Leader: Paul "Bear" Bryant, 14 (13 at Alabama, 1 at Kentucky).

#2 Steve Spurrier, 6 (all at Florida); tied with Vince Dooley (Georgia, 1964-88) and John Vaught, Ole Miss, 1947-70, 73.

#9 Urban Meyer, Nick Saban and Mark Richt, all with two; one away from Bill Alexander, Georgia Tech, 1920-44 and Johnny Majors, Tennessee, 1977-92.

#10 Les Miles, one, tied with 15 other coaches.

> Active All-Time Top 20 Coaches in Wins, Joe Paterno, Penn State, 383

#8 Steve Spurrier, South Carolina, 170 career wins--11 from #7 (Dick Tomey, San Jose State).

#15 Rich Brooks, Kentucky, 123 (9 from #14, Gary Pinkel, Missouri).

#16 Houston Nutt, Ole Miss, 120.

#18 Nick Saban, Alabama, 110, 1 ahead of Bob Stoops, Oklahoma, and Michigan's Rich Rodriguez.

➤ Winningest Major College Coaches...with SEC ties (Min. 170 wins)

Rank Coach All-Time Wins SEC School (s) years (wins)

- # #3 Paul "Bear" Bryant, 323...Kentucky, 1946-53, (60) and Alabama, 1958-82, (232)
- #4 Glenn "Pop" Warner, 319...Georgia, 1895-96 (7)
- #16 Vince Dooley, Georgia, 201...Georgia, 1964-88 (201)
- #19 Dana X. Bible, LSU, 198...1916 (2)
- #21 Dan McGugin, Vanderbilt, 197...1904-17, 19-34 (197)
- #25 John Vaught, Ole Miss, 190...1947-70, 73 (190)
- #27 Dennis Franchione, Alabama, 187...2001-02 (17)
- #28 John Heisman, Auburn, 186...1895-99 (12)
- #29 Johnny Majors, Tennessee, 185...1977-92 (116)
- #30 Darrell Royal, Mississippi State, 184...1954-55 (12)

- #32 Jackie Sherrill, Mississippi State, 180...1991-2003 (75)
- #33 Jerry Claiborne, Kentucky, 179....1982-89 (41)
- #38 Ralph "Shug" Jordan, Auburn, 176...1951-75 (176)
- #42 Robert Neyland, Tennessee, 173...1926-52 (173)
- #44 Wallace Wade, Alabama, 171...1923-30 (61)
- #45 Steve Spurrier, South Carolina, 170...Florida, 1990-2001 (122) and South Carolina, 2005-08 (28)
- (#8 Lou Holtz, Arkansas, 249...1977-83 (60); Arkansas was a member of the SWC.)

Coaches in *italics* are graduates of a SEC school. (Coaches after No. 20 were from an additional source.)