

The College Football Researchers Association Crowns Alabama as its 2011 National Champion

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 10, 2012

The College Football Researchers Association (CFRA) would like to announce that it has elected University of Alabama as its 2011 college football national champion. We would like to congratulate the Tide for their amazing season which earned them their tenth CFRA national championship. To see the remainder of the association's final poll, our regular season polls, and our complete list of past champions, please view our official website at www.cfrapoll.com.

The College Football Researchers Association was originally founded by the late Anthony Cusher in 1982. It was an organization modeled after the Professional Football Researchers Association (PFRA) consisting of college football fans and writers dedicated to researching and analyzing the history of the game. They published their results in a monthly bulletin produced by Robert Kirlin until after the '92 season when the association ceased operations and several successor organizations, operating under different names, were created.

In fall of 2009, under the coordination of Brad Matthews and with the involvement of several past members, the College Football Researchers Association was reorganized, and a group of both new and original CFRA voters was assembled to recreate this influential poll. Its remergence has been recognized by the NCAA, and according to NCAA records, the CFRA is the only multi-voter poll in the country that has elected a national champion in all 141 seasons college football has been played.

For more information concerning this poll, please contact Brad Matthews at 336-740-0891 or by e-mail at bmatthews85@gmail.com.